Past Exhibition

Seventh All-Media Juried Biennial

September 19 – November 1, 2015
Opening reception: Fri., Sept. 18, 2015
6 – 9 pm
Artist Workshop: Saturday, October 3, 12:30 – 2 pm


Opening Reception Photo Gallery

This year’s Biennial features 87 works of art by 78 artists. Overall, 383 artists representing 21 different Florida counties submitted 1,084 entries for consideration. The winners of cash prizes were announced at the opening reception on Friday, September 18 from 6 pm to 9 pm.


Best in Show: Carrie Smith
1st Place: Clara Varas
2nd Place: Kerry Phillips
3rd Place: Jordan Massengale

Honorable Mentions

Eddie Arroyo
Linda Behar
Karla Caprali
Deming Harriman
Juan Neira
Troy Simmons
Jeff Whipple

All artists residing in the state of Florida were invited to submit entries of contemporary artwork for consideration in this Biennial. Original paintings, drawings, prints, sculpture, photography, video, computer-generated images, performance, and site-specific installations were considered.

Award winners were selected for Best in Show ($2,000 prize), First Place ($1,000 prize), Second Place ($600 prize), Third Place ($400 prize), and Honorable Mentions. This year’s jurors are Marisa J. Pascucci, Curator of Collections at the Boca Raton Museum of Art, and Elizabeth Cerejido, Independent Curator of modern and contemporary Latin American art and photography. Artist Michelle Weinberg curated the exhibitions.

Artist Professional Development Workshop

Saturday, October 3, 12:30 – 2 pm


Biennial juror and Curator of Collections at the Boca Raton Museum of Art Marisa Pascucci will be joined by artist and Biennial curator Michelle Weinberg and photographer Paul Stoppi to impart practical skills to artists at all levels who wish to improve their submissions to exhibitions. Attendees will learn how to select their strongest works, how to photograph them properly, and how to write a brief artist statement and biography. Participants are encouraged to bring writing materials or laptops/iPads so they can work on their submission materials at this workshop.

Free with gallery admission.
Half-off admission for Biennial entrants (Note: guests of Biennial entrants are $7).

Please RSVP to 954. 921. 3274 or email

Participating Artists

Miroslav Antich, West Palm Beach Mally Khorasantchi, Naples
Eddie Arroyo, Miami Monique Lassooij, North Miami
Maria Theresa Barbist, Miami Jill Lavetsky, Lake Worth
Linda Behar, Parkland Dan Leahy, West Palm Beach
Sarah-Twiggy Boyer, Coral Springs Jordan Massengale, Pembroke Pines
Todd Brittingham, Plantation Jillian Mayer, Plantation
Lujan Candria, Miami Michael Mills, Wilton Manors
Karla Caprali, Cutler Bay Laura Mintz, Bay Harbor Islands
Leo Castaneda, Doral Juan Neira, Doral
Erika Cespedes, Loxahatchee Rick Newton, West Palm Beach
Angelica Clyman, Pembroke Pines Edison Peñafiel, Sunrise
Barbara Cooper Hanson, Miami Kerry Phillips, Miami
Stephanie Cunningham, Ft. Lauderdale   Sri Prabha, Hollywood
Neil De La Flor, Miami Alexander Richard Carbonell, Miami
John DeFaro, Miami David Rohn, Miami
Colby DeGraaf, Boca Raton Alina Rojo, Miami Lakes
Cara Despain, Miami Jorge Sanchez, Miami
Reniel Diaz, Miami Beach Ivan Santiago, Miami
Reed Dixon, Boynton Beach Lissette Schaeffler, Miami Beach
Jane du Brin, Fort Pierce Gretchen Scharnagl, Miami
Erman , Miami Elle Schorr, Lake Worth
Daniel Fiorda, Miami Beach Stuart Sheldon, Miami
Abby Funk, Delray Beach Kocabasi Sibel, Lake Worth
Justin Gaffrey, Santa Rosa Beach Troy Simmons, Miami
Lorna Ruth Galloway, North Miami Carrie Smith, Clearwater
Nick Gilmore, Miami Bethany Taylor, Gainesville
Deborah Goldman, Key West Kristen Thiele, Miami
George Goodridge, Miami Beach Alba Triana, Miami
Sandi-Jo Gordon, Aventura Clara Varas, Miami
Isabel Gouveia, Lake Worth Jovan Karlo Villalba, Miami
Amy Gross, Delray Beach Evelyn Walg, Aventura
Deming Harriman, Miami Beach Jill Weisberg, Dania Beach
Cecilia Hecht, Hollywood Jeff Whipple, Jacksonville
Rachel Henriques, Ft. Lauderdale Michael Williams, Miami Beach
Peter Hosfeld, Miami Shores Agustina Woodgate, Surfside
Carol Jazzar, El Portal Angela Yang, Fort Lauderdale
Maria Soledad Jofre, Hialeah Joni Younkins-Herzog, Sarasota
Brookhart Jonquil, Miami Juan Carlos Zaldivar, Miami Beach
Steven Kenny, St Petersburg
Yasmin Khalaf, Miami
Also showing:

About the Jurors

Marisa J. Pascucci is the Curator of Collections at the Boca Raton Museum of Art. Most recently she was the Associate Editor of The Art Economist and career advisor at Palm Beach State College. Pascucci’s experience includes serving as the Norton Museum of Art’s Smith Curator of American Art along with curatorial roles held at the Everson Museum of Art; the Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts; MOCA, Cleveland; and, the Cleveland Museum of Art. She graduated from American University with a BA in art history and earned dual MA degrees in art history and museum studies from the joint program between Case Western Reserve University and the Cleveland Museum of Art. Pascucci is included in Who’s Who In American Art and is a member of Palm Beach County’s Art in Public Places Committee.

Elizabeth Cerejido is a Cuban born, Miami-based independent curator of modern and contemporary Latin American art and photography. Her research interests aim to uncover areas of scholarship previously ignored and her curatorial practice links socio-political contexts and personal narratives with artistic processes. Cerejido holds a Masters degree in Latin American Studies from the University of Miami and is currently residing between Miami and Gainesville where she is pursuing a PhD in Art History at the University of Florida. She is former Assistant Curator of Latin American and Latino Art at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and was Curator at The Patricia & Phillip Frost Art Museum at Florida International University from 2002-2007. She is the creator of Dialogues in Cuban Art: Transnational Exchange Programs between Miami and Havana a multiyear initiative funded by the Knight Foundation Arts Challenge Grant and the Related Group (

About the Curator

Michelle Weinberg is a consultant to museums and non-profits, developing exhibitions, education programming and more. She also serves as the Creative Director of Girls’ Club in Fort Lauderdale. Weinberg is an artist who creates art for interiors, architecture and public spaces. She received her BFA from School of Visual Arts in New York City and her MFA from Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia. Weinberg is the recipient of awards, fellowships and residencies including homesession and Fundacion Valparaiso in Spain, Millay Colony, MacDowell Colony, an Artist Enhancement Grant and an Individual Artist Fellowship from the State of Florida, a South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship in Visual & Media Art, the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts, Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, and Altos de Chavon, among others. Exhibitions of her work include: Dorsch Gallery in Miami, Cyan Gallery in Barcelona, Lesley Heller Workspace and Kathryn Markel Fine Art in New York, The Bob Rauschenberg Gallery at Edison State College in Fort Myers, FL, The Schoolhouse Gallery in Provincetown, MA, Miami Art Museum, Islip Art Museum, and the Art and Culture Center of Hollywood. Commissions include The Wolfsonian Museum-FIU, Facebook offices in Miami, Miami-Dade County, City of Tampa and City of Hollywood, FL.

Regular gallery hours: Tue. –  Fri., 10 am – 5 pm / Sat. – Sun., noon – 4 pm / Closed Mon.
Gallery admission is $7 for adults; $4 for students, seniors, and children ages 4 to 17; and free to Center members and children 3 and under.

Image: Michael Williams, Of + D, 2013, 36”x36”x1.5”, Watercolor on Canvas.