Past Exhibition

Abracadabra: Second Annual Fund-raising Art Exhibition and Raffle

Opening reception: Thu., Jan. 22, 6 - 9 pm
Exhibition runs through Feb. 13, 2009
Raffle event: Fri., Feb. 13, 6?–?9 pm

Click here to see pictures from the opening and raffle event.

Approximately 100 works in all media by outstanding South Florida artists and others are displayed for three weeks prior to being raffled off to ticket buyers at a wonderful soiree in the Center’s main gallery! Make plans now to preview these great artworks and attend this “fun” fund-raiser, where all raffle purchasers go home with a fantastic piece of art that might be worth thousands of dollars!

Click here to see the works in the exhibition.


Note: Online ticket sales are now closed. However, tickets will be available at the door.

$375 One raffle ticket and admission for two to event
$700 Two raffle tickets and admission for four to event
$1000 Three raffle tickets and admission for six to event
$30 buys general admission for one person to the event (this does not include raffle participation).

Each raffle ticket purchased will guarantee the bearer to go home with a work of art valued at greater than the ticket price. Raffle tickets are available in advance and at the door if still remaining.

At 8 pm, all ticket holders’ names will be randomly drawn, one by one. When your name is called, you choose any work of art that has not yet been selected. If you are picked first, you have first choice of all the artwork, the second name picked gets second choice, and so on – everyone is a winner! Participating artists are by invitation, selected by the Center’s curator and the Event Committee. Proxy bidding will be available for raffle ticket holders unable to attend. Complimentary beer, wine, cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, and live entertainment.

For more information call 954. 921. 3274, ext. 244.

Participating Artists
Harumi Abe Nzuji Magalhaes
TJ Ahearn Juan Maristany
David Almeida Emily Martinez & Michael Balbone
Luis Alonzo-Barkigia Nicole Martinez
Lazaro Amaral Jordan Massengale
Mark Alan Anderson Raul Mendez
Jackie Arnette Luisa Mesa
Diane Arrieta Josafat Miranda
Kevin Arrow PJ Mills
Bhakti Baxter Sara Modiano
Rakel Bernie Beatriz Monteavaro
Trisha Brookbank Gean Moreno
Pablo Cano Hugo Moro
Tillamook Cheddar Victor Muniz
Juan Pablo Cheret Davis Murphy
Susan Lee Chun JoAnn Nava
Paul Clemence Lea Nickless
Lou Anne Colodny Luis Garcia Nerey
William Cordova Michael O’Brien
Julie Davidow Ray Olivero
Patrick Decastro Jay Ore
Ivan Depena Guerra de la Paz
Tami Demaree Raul Perdomo
Devil Saint Inc. Gavin Perry
Christian Duran Kerry Phillips
Harlan Erskine Vicki Pierre
Eurydice Cullen Rainey
Dara Friedman Karen Rifas
Claire Garrett Dinorah De Jesus Rodriguez
Martin Gaza Jonathan Rockford
Mark Gibson Lisa Rockford
GisMo David Rohn
Lynne Golub Gelfman Gustavo Roman
Sayre Gomez Tony Rosca
Adler Guerrier Damian Rojo
Tim Hailand Samantha Salzinger
Jason Hedges Oliver Sanchez
Alex Heria Nathan Sawaya
Jay Hines Tom Scicluna
Jill Hotchkiss Francisco Sheuat
Alesh Houdek Alyson Shotz
Steven Hull Tawnie Silva
Seth Kaufman TM Sisters
Craig Kucia Steven Sylvester
Timothy Leistner Nina Surel
Georges LeBar Vanessa Tomchik
Nick Lobo Stephan Tugrul
Justin Long Eduardo del Valle & Mirta Gomez
Marlene Lopez Michelle Weinberg
Christiaan Lopez-Miro Annie Wharton
Jules Lusson John Zoller
Participating Galleries
Art Center South Florida Diana Lowenstein Fine Art
Artist’s Eye Fine Art Gallery lemon sky: projects + editions
Chelsea Art Gallery Fredric Snitzer Gallery
Kevin Bruk Gallery Bernice Steinbaum Gallery
David Castillo Gallery Twenty/Twenty Projects
Carol Jazzar Contemporary Art
Event Committee
Jane Hart, Curator and Event Chair
Ariel Biscayart Jeff Lynn
Daria Brit Shapiro Jane Mitchell
Jose Diaz Scott Murray
Natalia Hnatiuk Gustavo Ortiz
Alesh Houdek Misael Soto
Chris Ingalls Catherine Taylor
Carol Jazzar Charmain Yobbi
Timothy Leistner
Joy Satterlee, Executive Director
Host Committee
Dr. Abraham and Peter and Carmen Hotchkiss
Hon. Patricia Asseff Leigh R. and Deborah Kerr
Scott and Holly Bodenweber Alan Koslow
Dr. Robert and Bonnie Barnett Oscar Llorente and Gerard Nadeau
Terry and Lynn Cantrell Dave and Donna Lottes
Frank DePiano, PhD, NSU Kim Nothard and Margi Glavovic
Jorge Garcia and Angel Perez Leon and Nina Nissenfeld
Neil and Sigrid Gold Leonard and Sally Robbins
Francie Bishop Good and Don Rosenblum, PhD, NSU
David Horvtiz

Click here for information on last year’s Abracadabra.

The 08/09 visual arts season is supported by Francie Bishop Good and David Horvitz; and the John C. Graves Charitable Fund.

Abracadabra is supported in part by Magician Jack Maxwell and The Wizard’s Apprentice Magic Shop, MBI, Borders Picture Framing, Michael’s Catering, Southern Wine and Spirits, and Windsor Arts. Host committee and sponsors list still in formation.