Visual Arts

Sixth All-Media Juried Biennial

April 27 – May 26, 2013
Opening Reception: Fri., April 26, 6 – 10 pm

View Biennial Photo Gallery Here

Award Winners

Gamaliel Herrera

Best in Show ($2,000)

Yanira Collado

First Place ($1,000)

Sinisa Kukec

Second Place ($600)

Dogan Arslanoglu

Third Place ($400)

Honorable Mentions

Farley Aguilar
Peter Hammar
Johnny Laderer
Christiaan Lopez-Miro
Venessa Monokian
Jeff Olson
Chad Perna
Johnny Robles

The All-Media Juried Biennial includes paintings, drawings, prints, sculpture, photography, video, computer-generated images, site-specific installations, and performance art from Florida-based artists. Award winners will be selected for Best in Show ($2,000 prize), First Place ($1,000 prize), Second Place ($600 prize), Third Place ($400 prize), and five Honorable Mentions. Award winners will be announced at the opening reception. This year’s jurors are Hunter Braithwaite, Miami Rail editor, and Gean Moreno, founder of [NAME] Publications, critic, curator, and artist.

6th All-Media Juried Biennial Participating Artists

Farley Aguilar Leila Leder Kremer Sri Prabha
Alissa Alfonso
Alma Leiva
Bianca Pratorius
Rod Appleton
Christiaan Lopez-Miro    Malika Prisarojn
Dogan Arslanglu
Sim Malden Rosaria Pugliese
Leandra Arvazzetti
Venessa Monokian Hillary Putnam
Kelly Boehmer Ben Morey Johnny Robles
Ramon Bofill Ania Moussawel CJ Rocco
Jonathan Brender
Rick Newton Jacqueline Roch
Nicole Burko
Andrea Nhuch Rosemarie Romero
Yanira Collado Andrew Nigon Ivan Santiago
Mark Cranford
Jami Nix Rahn Dick Sauer
Nicole Doran Kubiat Nnamdie Beatriz Savino
Carla Fache
Lori Nozick Lissette Schaeffler
Charles Gaffney Jeff Olson Lidija Slavkovic
AdrienneRose Gionta    Jay Oré Karen Starosta-Gilinski
Peter Hammar Gustavo Oviedo Matt Stock
Gamaliel Herrera John Pack Pal Stock
Babette Herschberger Edison Penafiel GH Tepper
Patricia Hoyos Tara Penick Kristen Thiele
Robert Sparrow Jones
Rudy Perez
Jena Thomas
Marlene Kann Chad Perna Alex Trimino
Dina Knapp Kerry Phillips Stephan Tugrul
Sinisa Kukec Renee Phillips Angela Valella
Johnny Laderer Luis Pinto Rodolfo Vanmarcke
    Susan Weiss

Film screening: The Rising Tide, Thursday, May 16th

Artists’ Reception admission is free for members, $10 for non-members. Pisco Don Benedicto sours and light refreshments by Freda’s Awesome Food. Music by legendary dj yard of Yard Bird Records.

Funding Acknowledgements

Funding Logos: State of Florida, Broward County, City of Hollywood

Gallery exhibitions and artist talks are funded in part by Michael and Lou Anne Colodny, and Marianne Ferro. The Art and Culture Center of Hollywood is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization supported in part by its members, admissions, private entities, the City of Hollywood, the Broward County Board of County Commissioners as recommended by the Broward Cultural Council; the State of Florida, Department of State, Division of Cultural Affairs, the Florida Council on Arts and Culture; and the Kresge Foundation. We welcome donations from all members of the community who wish to support our work.